Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The purpose of this Antiracism guide is to connect students, staff, faculty, and community members of the University of Denver to resources related to antiracism that are available through the University of Denver Library. Its resources, research, and literature in antiracism are specifically to antiblack racism in the US.
What is Anti-racism?
Anti-Racism is the practice of actively identifying and opposing racism. The goal of anti-racism is to actively change policies, behaviors, and beliefs that perpetuate racist ideas and actions through reading, listening, and learing.
Keywords for Searching
Antiracism or Anti-racism
Antiracism or Anti-racism
Antiracism or Anti-racism--US
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion at DU
The Office of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (ODEI) is committed to providing leadership, guidance, and resources in support of the University of Denver’s commitment to building a more diverse, equitable, and inclusive institution.
The Student Affairs and Inclusive Excellence (SAIE) is committed to providing students with the support and skills needed to become empowered citizens that positively impact the communities they are a part of, now, and in the future.
The Human Resources and Inclusive Communities (HRIC) is committed to upholding DU's reputation as a global leader in academics and research that serves the public good. As a strategic partner of the University community, we provide leading HR services and programs to attract, inspire and sustain excellence in our community.
Databases and Search Engines
African American Communities
Focusing primarily on Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn, and the urban centers of North Carolina, this database is comprised of a diverse range of primary sources that discuss challenges, of racism, discrimination, and African American history and culture.
A reference center focused making information on African American history and people of African descent available and accessible to the general public; includes speeches, primary court documents, and government reports that impacted Black American history in the United States.
Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity
An interdisciplinary research institute of the Ohio State University dedicated to the study of issues related to race, ethnicity, and race relations.
A digital library and discovery platform for resources documenting African American history and culture from over one thousand libraries, archives, and museums.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
An indexing and abstracting tool focused on providing access to literature focuses on psychology sociology, race relations and more
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
An expansion of the 1996 and 2000 works, the Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History identifies, address, and analyses broad themes of Black history, figures, and culture in and across the Americas.
Encyclopedia of African American Society by
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
This work focuses on approaching the material from an accessible and understandable perspective. Topics of interest include rap music, sports, television, media, film, racism, segregation, religion and more.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
This encyclopedia discusses the distinct histories of race and racism in the United States and its worldwide impacts including globalization, mass media, social media outlets, and world affairs.
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies by
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Now in its fourth edition, The Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies provides single-volume reference works that address all aspects of race and ethnic studies through the early twenty-first century.
Encyclopedia of African-American Civil Rights by
Publication Date: 1992-05-30
This encyclopedia surveys a wide array of events, legislation, cultural achievements, and organizations that contributed to the century long fight for freedom racial equality for Black and African Americans in the United States.
Race and Racism in the United States: An Encyclopedia of the American Mosiac by
Publication Date: 2014-06-24
This work explores various definitions and perceptions of race and racism in the United States and its changes from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries.
Additional Reference Books
Handbook of the Sociology of Racial and Ethnic Relations by
Publication Date: 2018-06-27
This handbook uses a sociology lens to discuss racial and ethnic relations from an academic perspective of scholars from a variety of backgrounds.
Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations by
Publication Date: 2002-09-11
Contains entries addressing the changing definitions of topics related to race and ethnic relations from modern definitions of race and racism to topics such as black feminism, environmental racism, and post-colonialism. All relevant topics to understanding the nuances and intricacies of antiracism.
Archives and History
A digital archive providing access to historical newspapers that are essential to the study of African American history in the United States.
Black Abolition Papers
A collection of primary source materials such as newspapers articles, essays, and speeches significant to the abolition of American chattel Slavery from 1830-1865.
Blair-Caldwell African American Research Library
Based in Denver Colorado, this digital library provides access to several collections focusing on the history of African Americans in Denver and the American West.
Black Studies Center
A database focused on providing access to primary and secondary sources about experiences of people of African descent across the diaspora.
Ebony Magazine Archives
The Ebony Magazine Archive includes nearly one thousand issues covering civil rights, education, entrepreneurship, and other social topics through an African American lens from its inception in 1945 through 2008.
Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice
A digital collection covering six hundred years of several distinct topics in American Slavery. This collection emphasizes primary sources documents manuscripts, maps, original testimonies, and high-quality images.
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Antiracism is an accessible introduction to the political theory of Black American antiracism, through a study of the major figures, texts, and political movements across US history.
The New Jim Crow by
Publication Date: 2010-01-05
The book discusses race-related issues specific to African-American males and mass incarceration in the United States covering topics such as racial discrimination from lawmaking to policing to the denial of voting rights to people who were previously incarcerated.
So You Want to Talk About Race by
Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Ijeoma Olou uses accessible and approachable language to guide readers of all races and backgrounds through a range of subjects including police brutality, post colonialism and antiblackness; and explains how to begin having htse difficult conversations.
Stamped from the Beginning by
Publication Date: 2016-04-12
The National Book Award-winning history of how racist ideas were created, spread, and engrained in American Society.
Culture & Art
African American Poetry
A collection of literature by African-American poets with an emphasis on the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Black History Music Library
A continuously updated of collection of books, articles, documentaries, and more centering African and Black American origins of popular music dating back to the eighteenth century.
ColorLines is a news site, published by Race Forward, featuring investigative reporting and news analysis through the lenses of communities of color.
Sherwood Forest Zine Library
A virtual zine library centering works by Black creators. Topics of interest include Black issues, protests/activism guides, law enforcement, abolitionism and more.
Encyclopedia of African American Artists by
Publication Date: 2009-03-20
An encyclopedia of art and artists containing detailed full color images of work by African American artists depicting their experiences from the eighteenth to the twenty-first centuries.
Encyclopedia of Black Comics by
Publication Date: 2017-09-01
The Encyclopedia of Black Comics functions as an anthology of Black creators and their induvial experiences in the industry working as writers, illustrators, and editors.
The Handbook of African American Literature by
Publication Date: 2004-06-30
A comprehensive compilation of materials to study African American literature. This handbook contains over four cross referenced terms, ages, movements, and periods pertinent to African American history, and the history of African American poetry.